Living Loved

So it has been quite a while since I have last updated my blog on here and I am truly sorry. A lot has happened since then and I will try my best to summarize what has been going on. First thing is since I have returned to England after Christmas break I have started a girls bible study. It’s with a few of the older girls who come to my church and we started this about a month ago. So far it has been great! We are going through a book called Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst and it is all about how we don’t need to seek love and acceptance from the world but is teaching us how to live loved by God. It’s been so nice getting to pour into these girls and to just have a place where they feel safe to ask questions and to learn about God. I am thankful that this dream of mine that I have been praying about for around 3 months has finally come to life and to see these girls enjoying themselves and allowing me to spend time with them and to encourage them.

The next big thing happened a couple weeks ago. The Durham Diocese had a mission week called Talking Jesus. We participated in it by having an art exhibition on Sunday. We had been planning for this event for months and to finally see it come together was amazing. The whole point of this day was to bring people from the community to the church for the day. So every church in the diocese who participated was asked to come up with a unique idea for an event to bring in people and to talk about Jesus. Our idea was the art exhibition. We went to the two primary schools that we are partnered with and invited all the students to create a piece of art whether it be a painting, collage, photograph, or drawing, and to have it depict what they think Jesus looked like. We got over 600 pieces of art to display in our church for the day. During the event we had a craft station that I was in charge of where I helped kids make salvation bracelets and had the opportunity to share the gospel with them and their parents. We had an amazing turnout of people who came to see the artwork. It was so heartwarming to see the kids get excited when they found their piece hanging up on display and to see how proud they were of it. We also had a Bishop come to our event and the kids were able to ask him some questions, one of my favorites being: “If Jesus was a footballer (soccer player) what position would he be?” It was such an interesting question and the Bishop didn’t even hesitate, “A goalie because Jesus saves.” It was so great to get to hear the kids asking questions and how patient and down to earth the Bishop was with them. Overall the event was a major success and everyone who came seemed to have a great time.

IMG_1464
Some paintings created by the kids in our schools

IMG_1442
The Bishop answering some of the kids questions about Jesus

IMG_1467
Some more artwork created by the kids in the schools
Thank you for all who continue to support and pray for me and the ministry I am serving in over here. For some more specific prayer requests you can pray for:

  • The youth club to continue to flourish and for the kids who come to have their hearts open up to Jesus
  • The girls bible study I lead for the girls in my church

Leave a comment